5th PERC General Assembly

The 5th PERC General Assembly took place in Brussels on 5 December 2023, chaired by Irakli Petriashvili, the President of Georgian Trade Union Confederation and the President of the PERC.

Sixty nine delegates from forty nine organisations participated and:

  • Adopted the report of activities for 2020-2023;
  • Debated and adopted the programme of action for 2023-2027 ;
  • Adopted the statement on the social dialogue;
  • Approved the amendments to the Constitution;
  • Approved the composition of the Executive Committee.

ITUC General Secretary Luc Triangle addressed the Assembly and commended the victory the trade union movement achieved in getting the ILO Governing Body referring right to strike to the International Court of Justice.

Beata Andrees, ILO Regional Director for Europe and Central Asia, informed about the ILO agenda and activities in PERC region, Decent Work Country Programmes and specific ILO decisions on the Russian Federation’s war in Ukraine and on Belarus, in particular, and importance of the social partners in advancing social justice and decent work, need for ILO Conventions ratification campaigns, including Conventions on Occupational Health and Safety, that were recently included in the list of Fundamental Workers Rights.

Agnes Jongerius, Member of the European Parliament discussed efforts of the progressive politicians to advance social agenda in the European Union, including in accession and international policies, particularly in a view of new enlargement targets.

The General Assembly elected Esther Lynch, ETUC General Secretary, as General Secretary of the PERC. Igor Zubcu, President of the National Confederation of Trade Unions of Moldova (CNSM) was elected as the next PERC President. The Assembly also elected ten Vice-Presidents, in gender and regionally balanced manner.

The new elected team, together with the chairs of the Women and Youth Committees, will compose the Steering Committee of the PERC:

General Secretary: Esther Lynch

President: Igor Zubcu, CNSM-Moldova


Ms Arzu Cerkezoglu (DISK President)
Mr Satybaldy Dauletalin (FPRK President)
Ms Irina Gorshkova (KTR Secretary on Gender)
Ms Raisa Liparteliani (GTUC Vice-President)
Ms Julie Lodrup (LO-Norway 1st Secretary)
Mr Sattar Mehbaliyev (AHIK President)
Mr Piotr Ostrowski (OPZZ President)
Mr Marcus Strohmeier (OGB Head of International Department)
Ms Anisa Subashi (KSSH Vice President) and then rotation agreement with
Ms Arjola Alika (BSPSH International Relations)
Mr Mikhaylo Volynets (KVPU President)

The Assembly congratulated and commended the work of outgoing PERC President Petriashvili and outgoing Vice-Presidents.

Statement on Social Dialogue
PERC Programme of action 2023-2027